G8 Summit

From June 6 to 8, the G8 leaders will meet for their annual summit in Heiligendamm.
The G8 members are Germany, France, the United Kingdom, Italy, Japan, the United States of America, Canada (since 1976) and Russia (since 1998). The European Commission is also represented at all the meetings. 
The annual summits are the most visible element of the G8 process. "Growth and responsibility"  - these are the central themes of Germany's G8 presidency. Shaping globalization and helping Africa to develop will be key focuses of the meeting in Heiligendamm.
Following on from 1978, 1985, 1992 and 1999 Germany will once again assume the Presidency in 2007.